| S3_001 |
▶
cash conversion divergence The divergence between operating cash flow and net income over FY2021–FY2025 is explained by material non-cash gains included in reported profit. Explicit disclosures identify gains on business disposal (£11.3m in FY2025, £1.6m in FY2024) and lease disposal (£1.9m in FY2025) that inflate reported net income without corresponding operating cash receipts. The FY2025 disposal gain of £11.3m is material relative to the reported profit of £17.1m and accounts for a substantial portion of the OCF/NI gap.
|
|
Why it matters
The OCF/NI divergence reflects legitimate non-cash items rather than earnings quality deterioration. Adjusting for these disclosed gains would narrow the gap and align the cash and earnings signals more closely, indicating that underlying operating performance is not masked by accrual distortions.
Confirmed, corroborated and unaddressed hypotheses
confirmed The notes explicitly disclose non-cash gains on business disposal: FY2025 £(11.3)m and FY2024 £(1.6)m. These gains inflate reported NI (reducing the loss or increasing the profit) without corresponding cash receipt from operations. The FY2025 gain of £(11.3)m is material relative to the reported profit of £17.1m and contributes to the OCF/NI divergence. The notes also disclose gain on lease disposal £(1.9)m in FY2025. These non-cash gains are explicitly named and quantified in the cash flow reconciliation.
“Profit on disposal of businesses: Year ended 30 September 2025 £(11.3)m, 16 month period ended 30 September 2024 £(1.6)m”
Consolidated cash flow statement, 2024–2025 Annual Reports.
unaddressed The notes explicitly disclose working capital movements for FY2025: receivables increase £(5.4)m, payables increase £10.3m, contract liabilities decrease £(1.1)m, and provisions decrease £(3.0)m. The net working capital movement is positive (payables increase exceeds receivables increase), which would support OCF rather than drag it. However, the finding references a multi-year divergence (FY2021–FY2025), and the supplied notes do not provide FY2021 data. Within FY2025 alone, working capital does not explain OCF/NI divergence. The notes do not address whether working capital build in prior years (FY2021–FY2024) is the driver of the endpoint divergence.
unaddressed The notes disclose capitalised software and development expenditure: FY2025 £(0.4)m, FY2024 £(2.6)m. The amounts are small and declining, not increasing. The notes also disclose amortisation of software and development costs: FY2025 £2.1m, FY2024 £3.3m, which is a non-cash add-back in the OCF reconciliation. The notes do not evidence a material increase in the proportion of expenditure capitalised or a policy change that would explain the OCF/NI divergence. The capitalised amounts are immaterial relative to the gap.
unaddressed The notes do not disclose any large receivable expected in the near term, any forward-looking statement about OCF/NI normalisation, or any specific timing issue that would explain the divergence as temporary. The notes provide the FY2025 and FY2024 reconciliation but do not address whether the divergence is expected to reverse in the following period.
|
| S3_002 |
▶
dso elevated or deteriorating Days sales outstanding deteriorated 17 days year-over-year (44 to 61 days in FY2024–FY2025), but the mechanism driving this increase remains unresolved. The deterioration could reflect slower cash collection from customers, a shift in revenue timing toward the end of the period, a change in customer mix toward longer contractual payment terms, or structural industry norms for the sector. Without an accounts receivable ageing schedule or customer payment data, the specific driver cannot be identified.
|
|
Why it matters
The DSO increase warrants monitoring, but its significance depends on the underlying cause. If driven by customer payment behaviour or credit terms extension, it may signal working capital pressure; if driven by revenue timing or customer mix, it may be a non-recurring or structural characteristic requiring no operational response.
Why this is open
All four candidate mechanisms are unaddressed despite notes being available (NV10 validation warning). The ageing schedule shows past-due receivables decreased and expected credit losses halved, which is inconsistent with collection efficiency deterioration, but the notes do not explicitly address collection behaviour, revenue timing concentration, customer mix shifts, or sector-specific payment cycles. The 17-day DSO deterioration (44→61 days) cannot be ranked against competing mechanisms.
Confirmed, corroborated and unaddressed hypotheses
unaddressed The notes provide an ageing schedule showing past-due receivables decreased from £2.3m (>90 days, 2024) to £1.3m (>90 days, 2025), and expected credit losses halved from £(1.6)m to £(0.7)m. However, the notes do not explicitly address collection efficiency, payment behaviour, or whether invoices are outstanding longer before cash is received. The ageing data suggests collection may have improved, but the notes do not directly name or reference collection efficiency deterioration as a mechanism. The standard credit terms remain 30–60 days with no disclosure of term extensions or payment delays. Collection efficiency deterioration is not explicitly addressed in the notes.
unaddressed The notes do not disclose revenue figures, quarterly revenue breakdown, or revenue timing within the year. DSO is mechanically sensitive to period-end revenue concentration, but without revenue data, the notes cannot confirm or corroborate whether high Q4 or H2 weighting occurred. The notes provide receivables and ageing data but no revenue context necessary to assess whether revenue concentration at period end explains the DSO increase.
unaddressed The notes state "The standard period for credit sales varies from 30 days to 60 days" but do not disclose whether the customer mix has shifted toward longer-term customers (enterprise, public-sector), whether contractual payment terms have been extended, or whether the proportion of customers on net-60 or net-90 terms has increased. The notes reference standard terms but do not address customer mix changes or structural term lengthening.
unaddressed The notes do not characterise the sector, state that long payment cycles are normal for the industry, or position the 61-day DSO as a structural or typical characteristic. No industry benchmark or sector-specific payment cycle disclosure is provided. The notes do not address whether elevated DSO represents deterioration or is a normal structural feature of the business sector.
|
| S3_003 |
▶
working capital drag Working capital absorbed £23m (6.7% of revenue) in FY2024, but the composition of this outflow—whether driven by receivables build, inventory accumulation, payables reduction, or seasonal timing—is not specified in the available data. The net working capital movement does not distinguish among these drivers, each of which has different implications for cash conversion quality.
|
|
Why it matters
The magnitude of working capital drag in FY2024 is material and warrants understanding its composition. If driven by revenue growth or supply chain pre-positioning, the outflow may be temporary and expected to reverse; if driven by payables compression or collection slowdown, it may signal structural cash conversion pressure.
Why this is open
All four candidate mechanisms are unaddressed despite notes being available (NV10 validation warning). The notes disclose working capital movements (receivables decrease £5.9m, payables decrease £11.9m, contract liabilities increase £5.5m) but provide no narrative explanation of revenue growth absorption, supply chain pre-positioning, supplier payment term changes, or seasonal timing effects. The £23m working capital outflow (6.7% of revenue) in FY2024 cannot be attributed to a specific mechanism.
Confirmed, corroborated and unaddressed hypotheses
unaddressed The notes disclose working capital movements in the cash flow statement (receivables decrease of £(5.9)m, inventory decrease of £0.2m, payables decrease of £(11.9)m, contract liabilities increase of £5.5m, provisions increase of £0.7m) but provide no narrative explanation of revenue growth, business scaling, or the relationship between revenue expansion and working capital absorption. No figures on revenue growth or forward-looking demand are provided. The balance sheet shows trade and other receivables fell from £40.9m to £32.2m and contract assets rose from £17.2m to £20.1m, but the notes do not explain whether this reflects revenue growth driving receivables build or other factors.
unaddressed The notes disclose inventory movements (decrease of £0.2m in the cash flow statement; balance sheet shows £0.8m at 31 May 2023 with no inventory balance disclosed at 30 September 2024, suggesting immaterial or nil holdings). However, the notes contain no reference to deliberate inventory pre-positioning, supply chain strategy, anticipated demand, or supply disruption concerns. No management commentary on inventory policy or strategic positioning is provided.
unaddressed The notes disclose a decrease in trade and other payables of £(11.9)m in the cash flow statement, and the balance sheet shows payables rose from £44.7m to £46.8m (a £2.1m increase). However, the notes provide no narrative explanation of changes in supplier payment terms, early payment policies, or tightening of credit terms. No disclosure addresses whether payment terms were shortened, extended, or whether early payment discounts were taken.
unaddressed The notes do not address seasonal patterns in working capital, expected release of working capital in the first half of the following year, or year-end timing effects. The cash flow statement itemises working capital movements at 30 September 2024 (the reporting date) but contains no commentary on whether these movements are expected to reverse or normalise in subsequent periods, or whether the year-end date captures an atypical working capital position.
|
| S3_004 |
▶
cash flow bridge Operating cash flow improved from £26.4m in FY2024 to £33.5m in FY2025, contradicting any claim of deteriorating operating cash generation. The improvement was supported by favourable working capital movements, including a £5.4m decrease in receivables, a £10.3m increase in payables, and decreases in contract liabilities and provisions. The earlier observation of FCF decline over FY2022–FY2024 cannot be attributed to operating cash deterioration; the driver must be identified through the full cash bridge (investing and financing activities) rather than the operating layer alone.
|
|
Why it matters
Operating cash generation strengthened in FY2025, indicating that any prior FCF weakness was driven by investment decisions or financing activities rather than deterioration in the core operating cash conversion process. This distinction is material for assessing the sustainability of cash generation.
Why this is open
Operating cash generation deterioration candidate is directly contradicted by disclosed figures: OCF improved from £26.4m (FY2024) to £33.5m (FY2025), with favourable working capital movements (payables increased £10.3m, receivables decreased £5.4m, provisions decreased £3.0m) offsetting a decline in cash inflow before working capital changes. The contradiction rules out the deterioration mechanism and supports the finding that FCF decline is not driven by operating weakness. The three-year FCF decline (FY2022–FY2024) is explained by the exclusion of the contradicted mechanism; the remaining unaddressed candidates (investment cycle, working capital build, structural FCF constraint) cannot be ranked without additional evidence.
Confirmed, corroborated and unaddressed hypotheses
contradicted OCF improved from £26.4m in 2024 to £33.5m in 2025, contradicting the claim that operating cash generation deteriorated. The notes show cash inflow before working capital changes declined from £48.5m to £38.7m, but this was offset by favourable working capital movements in 2025 (receivables decreased £(5.4)m, payables increased £10.3m, contract liabilities decreased £(1.1)m, provisions decreased £(3.0)m), resulting in net OCF improvement. Operating cash generation deterioration is directly contradicted by the disclosed figures.
“Net cash generated from operating activities: Year ended 30 September 2025 £33.5m, 16 month period ended 30 September 2024 £26.4m”
Consolidated cash flow statement, 2024–2025 Annual Reports.
unaddressed The notes disclose CapEx of £(4.7)m for property, plant and equipment and £(0.4)m for software/development in 2025, totalling £(5.1)m, and £(6.2)m and £(2.6)m respectively in 2024, totalling £(8.8)m. CapEx declined in 2025, not elevated. Acquisition activity was £(1.0)m in 2024 and absent in 2025. The notes do not disclose an elevated investment phase, planned acquisition programme, or expected normalisation of CapEx. No mechanism linking investment cycle to FCF decline is evidenced.
unaddressed The notes disclose working capital movements for 2025: trade and other receivables decreased £(5.4)m, contract assets decreased £0.4m, trade and other payables increased £10.3m, contract liabilities decreased £(1.1)m, and provisions decreased £(3.0)m. These movements were net favourable to cash flow in 2025, releasing cash rather than absorbing it. In 2024, receivables increased and payables decreased, which was less favourable. The notes do not disclose a working capital build in 2025 or identify working capital as a constraint on FCF. The mechanism of working capital build absorbing OCF is not evidenced for the 2025 period.
unaddressed The notes provide a cash flow statement but do not include forward-looking commentary, management discussion of business model constraints, or statements about structural reinvestment requirements. No disclosure addresses whether the business model requires continuous high reinvestment relative to OCF or whether FCF is expected to remain thin as a structural feature. The mechanism is not addressed in the supplied note paragraphs.
|
| S3_005 |
▶
payables compression Trade payables declined from £9m to £5m over FY2022–FY2024, but the mechanism—whether deliberate early payment, supplier term shortening, or reduced purchasing volume—cannot be determined from balance sheet data alone. Each mechanism produces the same payables outcome and has different implications for working capital management and supplier relationships.
|
|
Why it matters
The payables compression is a material working capital movement that contributed to cash outflow, but its nature (strategic choice, structural procurement shift, or volume contraction) remains unresolved and would require procurement and supplier data to clarify.
Why this is open
All three candidate mechanisms are unaddressed. The notes disclose trade payables declined from £9m to £5m (FY2022–FY2024) but provide no narrative explanation of early payment policy, supplier mix shifts, or purchasing volume changes. The financial instruments note addresses debt facility management but does not reference early payment practices, procurement base composition, or purchasing activity. The payables compression cannot be attributed to a specific mechanism.
Confirmed, corroborated and unaddressed hypotheses
unaddressed The notes contain no disclosure of early payment policy, settlement discounts, supplier relationship management initiatives, or strategic working capital decisions regarding payment timing. The financial instruments note addresses debt facility management and liquidity position but does not reference early payment practices or incentive programs that would explain deliberate acceleration of payables settlement.
unaddressed The notes contain no disclosure of procurement base composition, supplier mix changes, product category shifts, geographic sourcing changes, or supplier type evolution. No information is provided on whether the supplier base has shifted toward vendors with structurally shorter payment terms, or whether procurement sourcing has changed in any material respect.
unaddressed The notes contain no disclosure of purchasing volume, input cost trends, production activity, sales volume, or procurement spending levels. While the note discloses debt facility activity (drawdowns of £57.8m and repayments of £(75.0)m in 2024), this addresses external financing, not the purchasing activity or input cost base that would explain whether payables compression reflects volume contraction or stable terms with lower purchase volumes.
|
| S3_006 |
▶
ocf fcf variability Operating cash flow exhibited substantial variability over FY2021–FY2025 (ranging 26.0–55.0, a 52.7% peak-to-trough swing), driven by lumpy working capital movements across multiple categories. Payables swung from a £11.9m outflow in FY2024 to a £10.3m inflow in FY2025; receivables and contract liabilities moved in opposite directions across the same periods. These non-monotonic swings across receivables, payables, and contract liabilities are consistent with timing-driven working capital volatility rather than deterioration in underlying earnings quality. A goodwill impairment of £31.9m in FY2024 (the trough year) signals acquisition-related stress, though the impairment itself is non-cash and does not directly explain the OCF trough; explicit quantification of acquisition-related cash costs is not disclosed.
|
|
Why it matters
The OCF variability is primarily a working capital timing artefact expected to moderate over the medium term, rather than evidence of structural cash conversion deterioration. The FY2024 trough coincided with acquisition activity and goodwill impairment, suggesting that year was episodically stressed; the FY2025 recovery supports the view that the low point was transient rather than structural.
Confirmed, corroborated and unaddressed hypotheses
confirmed Notes explicitly disclose material working capital swings in payables (£10.3m inflow in FY2025 vs. £(11.9)m outflow in FY2024), demonstrating a non-monotonic pattern consistent with lumpy working capital movements. Additional evidence: (Increase)/decrease in trade and other receivables shows FY2025 £(5.4)m outflow and (Decrease)/increase in contract liabilities shows FY2025 £(1.1)m outflow vs. FY2024 £5.5m inflow. These opposite-direction swings across multiple working capital categories confirm the mechanism at the analytical level of the finding.
“Increase/(decrease) in trade and other payables: Year ended 30 September 2025 £10.3m, 16 month period ended 30 September 2024 £(11.9)m”
Consolidated cash flow statement, 2024–2025 Annual Reports.
corroborated Notes disclose a material goodwill impairment of £31.9m in the FY2024 period (the trough year in the observed window), signalling acquisition-related stress and integration challenges. However, the goodwill impairment is a non-cash charge (added back in the operating cash flow reconciliation) and does not directly reduce OCF. The notes also disclose "Acquisition of trade and assets as part of business combinations: 16 month period ended 30 September 2024 £(1.0)m", confirming acquisition activity, but do not quantify material transaction fees, integration cash costs, or acquired working capital absorption that would directly explain the OCF trough. The mechanism is referenced and partially evidenced but without explicit quantification of cash-based acquisition costs.
“Impairment of goodwill: 16 month period ended 30 September 2024 £31.9m”
Consolidated cash flow statement, 2024–2025 Annual Reports.
unaddressed Notes disclose capex of £(4.7)m (FY2025) and £(6.2)m (FY2024) for property, plant and equipment, plus £(0.4)m (FY2025) and £(2.6)m (FY2024) for software and development. Total capex is modest relative to OCF (£5.1m and £8.8m respectively, representing 15% and 33% of OCF). The notes do not evidence a significant capex cycle or lumpy capital expenditure pattern that would explain the 52.7% peak-to-trough OCF swing observed across FY2021–FY2025. Capex timing is not addressed as a material driver of the variability signal.
|